Skip to main content


2019 AFSCAN Research and Studentship Award Recipients Announced

Published: 6/24/2019
Funding offered for more pioneering research projects in AFSCAN countries

The WSAVA’s charitable Foundation runs the African Small Companion Animal Network (AFSCAN), which is advancing standards of veterinary care across Africa through education and through facilitating the creation of a sustainable network of companion animal veterinarians, associations and specialist groups in Sub-Saharan Africa. The recipients of the 2019 Awards have just been announced.  They are:
Research Awards
Dr Said Majid Khadija from the Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania will receive $10,000 over two years for his project entitled Canine Parvovirus Infection in unvaccinated dogs and dogs with suggestive signs of parvoviral enteritis.
Dr Bernard Agwai from Makerere University, Uganda, will receive $10,000 over 1.5 years for his project entitled Extending routine Leptospira diagnostics to dogs in urban and peri-urban Uganda.

Emma Sakala
Studentship Awards
Student Alex Kyabarongo, supervised by Dr Tayebwa Dickson from Makerere University, Uganda, will receive $1,000 to work on a project entitled Assessing the antimicrobial resistance of Escherichia coli isolated from dogs submitted to small animal clinics within Kampala.
Student Sharon Ngigi, supervised by Dr Paul Mbuthia from the University of Nairobi, Kenya, will receive $750 to work on a project entitled Dermatological conditions in dogs in relation to season.
Student Emma Sakala, supervised by Dr Musso Munyeme from the University of Zambia, Zambia, will receive $1,000 to work on a project entitled Comparative tracking of haematological alterations and clinical complications of canine babesiosis in domestic dogs in low versus high income settings of Lusaka District in Zambia.
Student Mlewa Waziri, supervised by Dr Erick Komba from the Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania, will receive $1,000 to work on a project entitled Health profile, welfare and demographic survey of cats in Morogoro.  
Emeritus Professor Michael Day, WSAVA Honorary Treasurer, member of the AFSCAN Board and co-ordinator of the AFSCAN scientific grants program, says: “This is the fourth year of the AFSCAN Clinical Research Awards and Studentships and we are again delighted to provide funding to encourage important clinical research and foster the research scientists of tomorrow in our AFSCAN countries. 
“The program would not be possible without the generous support of the UK's Petplan Charitable Trust and the Swiss Association for Small Animal Medicine.  We are also grateful to members of the WSAVA Scientific Advisory Committee, who undertake peer review of the applications and advise the AFSCAN Board on their selection.”