Skip to main content

WSAVA Global One Health Award

This award recognizes exemplary service by an individual in promoting the global One Health concept, particularly in relation to the importance of small companion animals. 

Dr Renee Chalmers Hoynck van Papendrecht, WSAVA Honorary Secretary (left), Dr Michelle Lem, recipient of the WSAVA Global One Health Award 2019 (middle) and Dr Shane Ryan, WSAVA President (right)


Recipients are selected on the basis of either: 

  • Service to local, state, national and international One Health organizations, resulting in scientific meetings and the exchange of information and international goodwill to the benefit of the medical and veterinary professions worldwide.
  • A significant track record of active research that highlights the role of small companion animals in One Health (ie in zoonotic infectious disease, comparative or translational medicine or the human-companion animal bond).


The recipient of this award is selected by the WSAVA One Health Award and is not open for nominations from others.