New Committee Chairs elected

(Read this story in Chinese) 

(Read this story in Spanish) 

(Read this story in Russian) 

(Read this story in Portuguese) 

Veterinarians from the US and Norway take up key WSAVA roles

Following Michael Day’s election to the Executive Board, US veterinarian Professor Michael (Mike) Lappin has been elected as Chair of the WSAVA One Health Committee (OHC) which works to ensure the prominence of the small companion animal-human interface in the global One Health agenda. Mike Lappin is the Kenneth W Smith Professor and directs the Center for Companion Animal Studies in the Department of Clinical Sciences at Colorado State University in the USA.

Read the full press release

Norwegian veterinarian Tess Kommedal has been elected Co-Chair of the Animal Wellness and Welfare (AWWC) Committee replacing Shane Ryan who has stepped down to focus on his Executive Board responsibilities. Tess is a small animal veterinarian in Stavanger, Norway, and has been a member of the AWWC since 2013. Melinda Merck is her Co-Chair.

Commenting on her new role, Tess says: “The AWWC’s goal is to train and educate wherever WSAVA Congress takes place and to provide veterinarians around the world with the tools and resources they need to create or enhance their local and regional welfare efforts. AWWC members lead on particular projects and I will help to ensure that we are in alignment with our strategic plan and delivering on our goals.

“Our most significant long-term undertaking is the development of our Global Welfare Guidelines and we look forward to launching them during WSAVA World Congress in 2018. We also deliver outreach spay/neuter programs linked to WSAVA World Congress and offer shelter medicine workshops in conjunction with these outreach programs. I was honored to be elected as Co-Chair and look forward to working with Melinda and the whole AWWC team during 2018.”

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Enter the characters shown in the image.